Unlearning and Innovation

The Steep Unlearning Curve” might have been my favorite article I have read this entire semester. I feel that I have already unlearned a lot as a teacher and as a learner. To look outside the box and view things from many angles to show it or learn from it. I agree with Richardson’s ten ideas about what needs to be unlearned. Especially the idea “We need to unlearn the idea that every student needs to learn the same content when really what they need to learn is how to self-direct their own learning.” If when in school I could have learned what I wanted to learn about, especially in college, instead of taking pointless generals and electives that I didn’t give two hoots about, I would have been a much more successful student. And that is evident in my grades. I love history, and almost all my history classes I received an A or B. I hate math, barely got a D, hate English, it has taken me many attempts to pass comp two, enjoyed communications, got A’s in those classes as well. We need to quit forcing requirements on students and let them learn what they want to be the most successful person they can be without wasting their time. I agree one hundred percent we need to unlearn the idea of what school is and start from a new perspective, or perspectives.

As far as being an innovative learner I felt it looped back to being a “hacker”. You are trying to make the education system better and I love it. We as teachers must constantly adapt, and change, to a new generation of learners to get information across. It is so vital that more people understand this! Use new tools and technologies, try new teaching techniques! Couros nailed it on the head in “The Mindset of an Innovater” when he said “I am an innovative educator and I will continue to ask “what is best for learners”.  With this empathetic approach, I will create and design learning experiences with that question as a starting point.” To many teachers now a days are just throwing recycled garbage from previous years at students and it is pointless. Adapt, what is new in your field, what can you use to get your point across to new students? What worked and what didn’t? I plan on being the most innovative learner I can be as a teacher and I hope it passes down to my students.

Leave a Reply

