What is Digital Literacy to me?

Digital literacy is defined on Infuse Digital Literacy Curriculum as “the ability to effectively and critically navigate, evaluate, and create information using a range of digital technologies.”  Digital literacy is just a person’s ability to communicate ideas and thoughts through technology.

In today’s day and age it is more important than ever to be digitally literate. The 21st century students need to be handy and capable with technology, or “digitally fluent”. Students need to know how to effectively run not only computers but a whole slew of tech pieces like smart phones and tablets. One of the downfalls that I have is that I haven’t had much experience with technology. I have never had a blog or used technology very much, but I do have a Twitter and Facebook. Those social media websites have given me a small grasp on the ways of the internet, but my overall knowledge of digital literacy is minimal.

One of the things that I want to learn is how to navigate around the blog site more. This was one thing that presented itself as a roadblock to me as I was trying to get started. I also just want to become better at using the internet to engage in communication.

As with most things, practice makes perfect. My strategy this semester is to practice digital literacy so that I can become more fluent. I think that having a blog will help me because it will force me to put my thoughts down, and I will learn about digital literacy in the process. In order to become effective digital learners and leaders we have to practice effective digital communication.

One thing that I hope to gain from this course is a much higher rate of digital literacy. I am excited to see how I can grow and what I can learn.

2 thoughts on “What is Digital Literacy to me?

  1. Yes, agree with you having the knowledge to freely move within the blog and use technology would be wonderful. I think it is a process and we must allow training time and be patient with ourselves during the process.

    Like

  2. I’m a big believer in learning by doing. There’s always a steep learning curve in this course because much of the technology is new. But the best way to learn is to jump in, muck around, make mistakes, try out different things, explore, play. We aren’t given a lot of freedom to do that in our educations, and I don’t think we’re encouraged enough as teachers and pre-service teachers to explore and play either. For me, that’s a big part of what this class is all about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

